New Beginnings…


Welcome to my new beginnings of Beyond the Strait Gate. 

This is my first blog ever!   It is my heart’s desire to share with you from time to time, gleanings from God’s Word and hopefully, thereby, encourage you, as He has encouraged me or shown me, His way for me, after having entered in through the Strait Gate.

What is this Strait Gate?  I thought I would begin by sharing what His Word has to say about the Strait Gate.  Jesus said in Matthew 7:13-14

     “Enter ye in at the strait gate: for wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat:  Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.” ~ KJV

Looking up a few words I found this: 

                 wide=spread out; expansive;                                              

                 broad=spacious;

                 narrow=in the Greek, it tells me there are groanings because of obstacles that keep us from easy access.

                 life=speaks of Eternal Life with Him

And then, in my Ryrie Study Bible Notes for Luke 13:24, “Strait” refers to Christ Himself. 

In the Luke 13:23-24 account, Jesus is being asked the question by a villager as He is going through the cities and villages, journeying toward Jerusalem…”Lord, are there few that be saved?”  And His answer in verse 24, “Strive to enter in at the Strait Gate: for many, I say unto you, will seek to enter in, and shall not be able.”

The verses that follow, verses 25-26 refers to man’s logic and reasonings for entrance into Heaven.  They come down to “works”; man’s reasonings, we see, are not God’s way.  We know this because in verse 27, Jesus’ response is “Depart from Me…” 

To recap then…as we look back at our opening verse in Matthew 7:13-14:

       The way to Eternal Life with Jesus Christ…is through Him.  All other ways (gates, paths) are broader, which accommodates many, but His way is narrow.  There will be many obstacles that can cause me to stumble to get to Him and live in the manner that He would have me to live, but entrance to this way of life is only in Jesus Christ.

     The Bible makes this clear in John 14:6 where Jesus says, “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” ~ KJV

    One of my favorite Christian authors is Oswald Chambers.  I have many of his writings and have, for years, used a devotional he wrote, My Utmost for His Highest.  In his July 7th writings, Chambers speaks of going beyond the Strait Gate; he speaks of how it is we are to live as disciples of Jesus Christ.

   First, Chambers reminds us that all noble things are difficult.  However, as difficult as the life is after we have entered through the “Gate”, it is a glorious life.  We do not faint nor cave in.  Instead, the difficulty, he says, rouses us up to overcome.  Now that we are on holy ground, we go on in this “marvelous salvation of Jesus Christ” and seek to be our “Utmost for His Highest”. 

   I hope that you will come back and spend some time again Beyond the Strait Gate and also, leave your comments.    Have a pleasant day as you live your day with Him and for Him. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                 

7 thoughts on “New Beginnings…

  1. Shalom my friend,
    Welcome to the blog-world and your site my friend is a welcome sight for thirsty souls seeking a drink from one of His refreshing pools. However, it was just a sip, not even enough to wet the palate and you have so much to offer this dying, thirsty world. More words my friend, more words, we need more….this was desert, where is the main course? How long do we wait for the next chapter?????

  2. Thank you for being the diligent disciple that you are, and the teacher and example for me for so many years. I am truly blessed to call you friend, mentor and dare I say spiritual advisor! 🙂

Leave a Reply

