The KING of my ‘heart’~ A servant’s heart


February, being the month where hearts are given special recognition on the calendar, having completed James 1, I am breaking away for a few posts to give several vignettes on the various kinds of “hearts” we experience in our lives and briefly exploring what Scripture has to say concerning the ones depicted. In each vignette, despite the condition of the heart, He is to be King of my/our heart. We begin with ‘a servant’s heart’. We will resume in James 2 shortly.

A Servant’s Heart! What IS a servant? One who is hired to perform household duties; one who is to serve as an assist or aide and be used for another; one who is to ‘supply something’ in some way, for someone else.

These thoughts and ideas, these pictures and imaginations are the things that come to mind perhaps as we conger up and consider ‘What is a servant’s heart?’ I would think, for the most part that would go against our grain; WHAT? ME be a servant?!!

Yet, Beyond the Strait Gate, our considerations are not with what mankind thinks, but more importantly, with what God thinks and what God says concerning a “servant’s heart”.

In I Samuel 13:13-14 we find Samuel speaking to King Saul:
“Thou hast done foolishly: thou hast not kept the commandment of the LORD thy God, which He commanded thee: for now would the LORD have established thy kingdom upon Israel for ever. But now thy kingdom shall not continue: the LORD hath sought Him a man after His own heart, and the LORD hath commanded him to be captain over His people, because thou hast not kept that which the LORD commanded thee.” – KJV

We learn from these few words, God is displeased with Saul…and why? Saul was disobedient to what God commanded him to do. We further learn from these verses, God is going to seek to replace King Saul with “a man after His own heart.” Saul disqualified himself from being used further in God’s plan, having chosen to follow his “own heart”, rather than “God’s Heart”.

A servant’s heart is one that wants what God wants and then obeys God. He doesn’t just assent with his own intellect; his own mind. He goes beyond this: he puts God’s Word into action.

Turning to Acts 13:22, “And when He had removed him, he raised up unto them David to be their king; to whom also He gave testimony and said, ‘I have found David, the son of Jesse, a man after mine own heart, which shall fulfill all my will.” – KJV

We find, once again, confirmation in God’s Word of this Old Testament passage, where His Word refers to that “man after God’s own heart” as being David. Why did David qualify to succeeed Saul? In God’s Omniscience, He knows David will fulfill all His will, as attested to in the Acts 13:22 passage.

Simple message, is it not? From where God sits on His Heavenly Throne, He looks into our hearts and either sees a servant’s heart, that is, one seeking to only do what He wants us to do, or He sees it cluttered and overflowing with our own willful and selfish desires to do as we please.

What do we treasure above God? Above His Word? Matthew 6:21 says, “For where your treasure is, there will be your heart also.” KJV Can we possibly escape the searching eye of the Lord? I know we cannot. Psalm 139 makes this ever so clear! I hope you will take the time to read this psalm prayerfully and meditate on the all encompassing knowledge and scrutiny of God’s presence concerning each one of us. He knows every step we take, every word on our tongue, every thought in our hearts and our minds. We cannot escape His presence wherever we may go. We also have the assurance that if we would but take His Hand, He will lead us and hold us securely (verse 10) and protect us (verse 11). God’s searchlight into our being need not be a fearful experience, but one which turns to praising Him.

Our response then, depends on our hearts. To have a servant’s heart, one that wants what God wants and then puts those desires into action by obeying Him, is what God deems having a “servant’s heart”.

A servant’s heart will have this response before God, as the Psalmist did in His seeking God’s will for his life:

“Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” Verses 23-24 – KJV.

Until, once again you step through Beyond the Strait Gate and we meet, consider your position before God. If He is not King of your heart and you have not a servant’s heart, bend your heart and knees, speak with Him and ask Him to give you the strength to be all He would want you to be for His Name’s sake.

A few notes:

If you are a regular visitor here, Beyond the Strait Gate, would you mind, “liking” my blog in the right-hand column of this page?

I look forward to hearing from you from time to time as you might leave your comments and/or questions. Please know I read each one and try to respond to each one. If you would like to be alerted to my having responded to you, please scroll below the comment box and ‘check off’ that you would like to be alerted to my having responded. Thank you for visiting.

4 thoughts on “The KING of my ‘heart’~ A servant’s heart

  1. Hello and Good Morning!

    I found your link to this blog through the etsy team: Christian Moms. I was reading today’s post and just wanted to give you a quick “thank you”. I needed the words you wrote.

    Blessings,
    Meagen =)

    • Thank you, Meagan for leaving your comment when you visited today. I can praise the Lord with you, that He answered your need through this blog. It is my goal to encourage believers and to plant seeds for the unbeliever. I hope you will visit again.

      Have a blessed day, Mercedes

  2. Mercedes,

    I find then even when my heart is on the Lord, I’m going along with my day and the next thing you know “I” take over. It gets discouraging sometimes. Thank you for the reminder. I need to watch myself, and go to “Him” more in prayer.

    Love,
    Libby

  3. Your visit is welcome, Libby. One of the battles of our sin-nature…always battling the “I” in self-will. It’s no wonder Paul tells us to “pray without ceasing”. The more we practice keeping our hearts and mind on the Lord, I believe, the more we will hear the ‘check mate’ of the Holy Spirit, when we begin to stray from His way to our way.

    Have a blessed day,
    Mercedes

Leave a Reply

