The LORD, King of my “Heart”


The LORD, Yahweh, that is, The God Who draws near to redeem me from the tyranny of sin, is King of my heart!

If indeed, The LORD is King of my heart, it discounts the negative responses my heart could possibly encounter. It discounts my having an anxious heart. That is, a heart that frets and worries, a heart that is encumbered with the cares and the “what ifs” this life serves me on it’s platter, daily. My heart can only respond in this anxious direction, if I allow these issues to attack my soul. And, what of fear? The fear of the unknown; the fear of financial ruin; the fear of a terminal illness; the fear of….well, you could fill in the blank, I’m sure. An anxious heart, a fearful heart based on the cares of this world, leads to a troubled heart and ultimately ends with a sinful heart.

It is a definite progression; a downward progression. Yet, is it inevitable? No, it is not.

Psalm 27:1 says, “The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?” It is a matter of perspective…a matter of our vision…a matter of our heart.

STRONG’S Concordance:
“light” -216- “luminary” (in every sense, including lightning, happiness, etc.): bright, clear, sun

“salvation”-3468- “liberty; deliverance, prosperity, saving.

“fear”-3372-revere, dread

strength-4581- a defense force; a fort(-ress), rock, stronghold

“afraid”-6342- stand in awe; (be in)fear, make to shake.

Paraphrasing, then, Psalm 27:1 with Strong’s definitions we could read Psalm 27:1 this way:
The LORD, the One who draws near to redeem me from the tyranny of sin, is my Luminary, my Clarity, and my Liberty and Deliverer. Of whom then, (or what) should I dread? The LORD, Who is near me to purchase my freedom from sin’s hold on me is my Defense, my Fortress, the Stronghold of my life; Of no oneshould I be in awe and nothing should cause me to be shaken.

This certainly paints a picture for us of the kind of faith we can have and do have when we place our faith in the LORD and make HIM the King of our heart.

Be Thou My Vision, is an ancient Irish hymn which was translated by Mary E. Byrne, 1880-1931 and versified by Eleanor H. Hull, 1860-1935:

Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart
Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art;
Thou my best thought, by day or by night
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

It is the presence of the LORD in our lives that makes the difference in our perspective, the difference in our vision. He, being the difference, will be the LIGHT that overshadows all else, and keep us from a sinful heart.

The great impetus of this stanza is not passive request, but a pleading of the hymn writer to lay hold on God to be Lord of his life. The writer seems to understand what Galatians 2:20a says when we read, “I am crucified with Christ…”. He wants Christ to be the One in charge of his life, the One Who lives in him. He understands that nothing and no one in this life matters more than his relationship with Jesus Christ. He wants nothing this world has to offer, but only what Jesus has for Him, and in fact, only Jesus Himself. The writer wants his focus to be 20/20…perfect vision, which is more than perfect, if Jesus is His vision. His vision is complete!

With Jesus as his only focus, his complete being will be complete and filled: his heart, his thoughts, his waking hours, his sleeping hours. The writer expresses the reliance he has in Jesus’ ever-presence with him and considers Jesus’ presence with him the illumination of his day and all of his life.

If our lives could be traced or marked by the joyous events in our lives: first cars, a new job, moving to a new home, a special vacation, marriages, children being born and toddlers taking their first steps, the first day of school and then college graduations, grandchildren, anniversary celebrations, being able to finally retire… Well, the list goes on. So many memories spring to mind and flood our souls with satisfaction and hopefully, thanksgiving for God’s blessing on our lives.

In all of these memories, did we see the Lord, Himself IN these events, or did we just see His blessings, the things we received or were granted? As we look back to these memories, how was our vision at the times of these blessings? Did we notice God’s fingerprints on our lives at these times? Did we take note of His presence and His power? His Sovereignty? Or was our vision blurred? Did we have an astigmatism? Did we not perceive His nearness. Or, were we farsighted, seeing Jesus in the remote distances of our lives and not acknowledging His near and direct presence in our lives?

Our vision of God is dependent on our spiritual character. Certainly salvation, that is being born-again, as Jesus said to Nicodemus in John 3:3, “Except a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God”, is key and the precipitous point of the evidence of God in our lives. But the measure, that is the depth and breath of God in my life, is parallel to my vision, my understanding and response to Who He is; that is, my relationship to Him. Do I take Him at His Word? If I am living and responding in life as one that truly ‘hears Him’, then, I will obey His Word, and truly HE WILL BE my Light, my Salvation, my Strength, my Fortress and in responding to Jesus in this manner, I make Him KING of my heart!

In closing, there’s another verse that is dear to me, and paints a similar picture: Proverbs 18:10:
“The name of the LORD is a strong tower: the righteous runneth into it, and is safe.”

The righteous heart seeks Jesus for his refuge. His reliance is solely on Jesus regardless of what may come his way in life. Why? Jesus is ever his vision and he has given over his life to Christ to rule in him and over all of his life.

The last verse of the aforementioned hymn says it this way:
High King of heaven, my victory won,
May I reach heaven’s joys, O bright heav’n’s Sun!
Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,
Still be my Vision, O Ruler of all.

May our hearts begin today with a new vision, or a renewed vision, to make Jesus the LORD and King of our hearts.

Note:
Thank you for visiting Beyond the Strait Gate.

If you have not yet subscribed and would like to be alerted of future new posts, please link onto the “subscribe” button on the right-hand side column.

If you would like to leave a comment, please scroll down below your comment to where you may click a button that says you would like to be notified via email of my having answered your comment. Thank you.

14 thoughts on “The LORD, King of my “Heart”

  1. How true it is that we look back on life an see the Lord in the good times, but it is so true that he’s with us always even in the “bad” times. How many times though, if we are listening, truly listening we would here His whispering be still and know that I am God.

  2. And, Cindy, IN that stillness, we will have that peace; His peace. AMEN! There truly is tremendous freedom if we, humans, would only read and follow THE instruction manual, His Word. 🙂 Thanks for leaving your comment. It is good to have ‘live’ feedback.

  3. Thank you Sue and Tisha for visiting today. His wisdom, His exhortation! Let us ask the Lord’s grace that we might all live as unto Him, and in so doing, men and women will be drawn unto HIm.

  4. Yes, Ann, now to live out what He puts in. 🙂 But, it is not impossible because He said so: “I can do all things through Christ, which strengtheneth me.”

    Be Thou My Vision is also one of my favorite hymns from when I was a teenager. I always associate this hymn with a dear saint that has already passed. He would sing this with such passion and sincerity. He was the youth leader in the church where I was saved and played a part, also, in securing my first job. I see and hear him always when I hear or think of this hymn.

  5. Thank you Mercedes, it reminds of what we learned yesterday about Liz. What a testimony of how much we need the Lord. I am so thankful He is with through all the times.

  6. Welcome! and thank you for visiting Beyond the Strait Gate, Maria, and leaving your comment.

    I hope you will be able to take the time to read some of the previous posts and continue to follow along. May He strengthen and encourage each of our hearts with His Word, and then too, that we would apply it to our hearts and lives.

  7. Hello, I just read the first comment you left above; speaking to Cindy in regards to His Word being our instruction manual. It made me think of a little flip calender that has been part of my family’s life for over a decade. It sits at my parents house (the hub for our entire family) on it’s little post in the hallway entering the kitchen, and whoever sees that it needs turning takes on the responsibility. One of the best I have seen out of the 366 days (leap year included!) is the one that gives this as the acronym for the BIBLE:

    B: Basic
    I: Instructions
    B: Before
    L: Leaving
    E: Earth

    I love this! I have said it so many times to many people in the past. It is such a true statement! If only people believed it and Followed this Truth…

    I look forward to your next post. They are uplifting and full of Truth.

    Blessings,
    Meagen

  8. Thank you, Meagan for visiting and sharing your B-I-B-L-E acrostic. God’s Word, the Bible, is His Love Letter to us that we might comes to know Him as Lord and Savior, and then, too, continue therein in a love relationship with Him…while we are living here on earth, awaiting either His return or our Home-going. Matthew 6:33, is one of my life verses which kind of encapsulates all this: “Seek ye first the kingdom of God and His Righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.” When God is central and foremost in our lives, everything we do runs according to this standard, and the more we apply it, the more it becomes a way of life “before leaving this earth”.

    May you also have a blessed day!
    Mercedes

Leave a Reply

