The LORD, King of My Heart:A Sanctified Heart


I’m sorry to have been away from you for so long. I was unwell for a while and hopefully, this respite has given you time to re-read and possibly contemplate and meditate on some of the writings thus far. Perhaps the Lord, in this interim, has been working on you, also, remolding you, refining you, and you are in a newer place in your relationship to Him…making Him, King of your heart. I’d love to hear, if you’d care to share. Please do leave your comments.

A Sanctified Heart is probably going to be my last ‘heart’ message for this month. After this, I’d like to return to the study in James.

As you may already know from having read previous posts, one of my favorite writers is Oswald Chambers, a godly saint. To know more of his life, you might consider reading his biography, “Abandoned To God”.

Chambers has these thoughts concerning a “sanctified heart”:
~ The “narrowing of my interest on earth and an immense broadening of all our interests in God”. That is, our body and spirit chained and kept for God’s purpose only.

Just meditate on this for a moment and picture if you will with me in your mind: “narrowing; immense broadening; chained and kept”. Very descriptive words, if you will allow your imagination to paint pictures to yourself. In my mind’s eye, I see ‘narrowing’ as going on a diet, a diet of my self-will; walls closing in on me so as to make my personal space much less comfortable and available; I see ‘immense broadening’ as though stretching my arms so wide that they cannot reach the extremities of the wideness where my eyes cannot see; infinitude; I see ‘chained and kept’ as one who is a prisoner, belonging to another without the freedom or accessibility; one who is dependent on someone else for all my needs.

Applying this, then, to my heart, if it is to be a ‘sanctified heart’, it is a heart that has little personal space for personal desires and pleasures, a heart that is amplified beyond measure to fulfill God’s purposes in my life only. My heart’s attitude is one of a bond-slave to God. One where I gladly give over to Him, my rights that He might fulfill His purposes in my life, for Himself. As He does this, we will not only bless God, please God, but He will also use me/us in the lives of others as well. These are His purposes.

What would it take for any one of us to be so submissive to God and His will in our lives that we are willing to give up our right to ourselves and leave ourselves, naked if you will, before God to do with us, as He pleases? If we are a serious disciple of Jesus Christ, we will take this petition to the Lord and ask Him to show us where it is in our lives that we have not “narrowed” our self-interests that He might come in and use us for His purposes.

I believe children learn by example. When we are teaching them, we need to be right there beside them doing with them, what we would like them to learn and do. The same is true of God. God is asking that we sanctify our hearts and when we look into Scripture, John 17:19, we find that Jesus, Who is speaking here, has sanctified Himself. God doesn’t ask us to do what He has not already done Himself, nor prepared us to do: “And for their sakes I sanctify myself, that they also might be sanctified through the truth.”

We find in this same verse, the method of sanctification: “through the truth”. Look with me at John 17:17 where we find what Jesus is referring to when He says that we are “sanctified through the truth”. Verse 17: “Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.” Notice, please, it isn’t just ANY truth, but THE Truth: God’s Word is THE Truth. So, the method of sanctifying our hearts is through God’s Word.

Notice if you will, verse 20, which shows us the “fruit” or end result that God is after in our being sanctified through God’s Word: “Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word;”. And, in the verses that follow (verses 21-22) Jesus’ “purpose” is “That they all may be one; as Thou, Father, art in Me, and I in Thee, that they also may be one in Us: that the world may believe that Thou hast sent Me. And the glory which Thou gavest Me I have given them; that they may be one, even as We are one:” And, Jesus says in verse 24 that those who “believe” that He is God, the Son, sent by God, the Father, will spend Eternity with Him forever, (verse 24).

Those then, that obey God in allowing the Word to sanctify their hearts, will share the Gospel of Jesus Christ, and others will be drawn to Him and His Word, and if they will believe, will have the assurance and promise of Eternity, Heaven, where God is, when we leave this earth.

Chambers also said this about “sanctification”:~”Sanctification is being made one with Jesus so that the same disposition that ruled Him would rule us”. From his devotional, ‘My Utmost for His Highest’ (July 23), “Sanctification means the impartation of the qualities of Jesus Christ. It is His patience, His love, His holiness, His faith, His purity, His godliness, that is manifested in and through every sanctified soul. Sanctification is not drawing from Jesus the power to be holy; it is drawing from Jesus the holiness that was manifested in Him, and He manifests it in me. Sanctification is an impartation, not an imitation.” Imitation is different. We are in charge. But, if we have sanctification imparted to us we are “kept by the power of God.”

What is the cost to us, you may be asking? Simple. The cost, the price, is submitting and releasing to God everything in us that doesn’t match up to His disposition. Time to take inventory?

Have you ever come to a place in your life when you have done everything you know how to work out a circumstance that weighs heavy in your life? Or perhaps, you have had some fears that you have felt you could never face in life, “if” they happened to you? Like the gerbil in his cage, we go around and around on the wheel, (which goes nowhere by the way in case you haven’t noticed) ☺ and when we have exhausted every which way we can think of, we finally just ‘give up’ in frustration because we, in coming to the end of ourself, realize that only God can answer our problem. It is to “that point”, which sometimes God allows us to get to, so that we DO come to Him. Something, by the way, we should done in the first place and saved ourselves all the grief and anguish. “THAT POINT” of relinquishing ourselves to God is what submission and releasing to God everything, is like; giving it all over to Him. He tells us, “Casting all your care upon Him; for He careth for you.” (I Peter 5:7), but for some unwise reason, we don’t do it His way.

The question remaining is this: How ready are we to set our hearts to be like His heart: sanctified; a heart that is set apart unto God; a heart that identifies myself with God’s interest and purposes in other people; a heart that is willing to die to self and life unto Him. This is God’s will for us, “For this is the will of God, even your sanctification…”-I Thess. 4:3a

The only relationship that matters in this life is our relationship to a “personal Redeemer and Lord, Jesus Christ.”-O. Chambers

Thank you for visiting Beyond the Strait Gate today. I hope you will return often, sharing your comments and thoughts. Should you do this, please check off below the comment box, to know when I have responded to your comments. Thank you.

2 thoughts on “The LORD, King of My Heart:A Sanctified Heart

  1. I wish I could tell you the conversation I just had with my best friend; a Christian Sister, a woman who has been there for me when I didn’t deserve to even be in her presence. All of your words posted spoke and supported everything she was telling me. Thank you for this post. I will study it and pray that He open my heart to all that He is telling me through it. ~Blessings =)

  2. Meagen, God has a way of doing that, doesn’t He? He speaks to us in so many ways, His Word, primarily, but then, compliments it using His saints for other saints and for all who have an “ear to hear” and want to hear. What you have said, tells me He is at work in your life and that you are listing. ☺ Since reading some of your posts, and other comments you have written before, I have been praying for you for a couple of weeks now. I’m excited to hear from you how His Spirit is at work in your life and heart. Have a good worship tomorrow. Blessings, Mercedes

Leave a Reply

