Passion Week: Is It NOTHING to You? – Part 1, Jerusalem’s Hosanna


The title of this post is taken from John Stainer’s oratorio, The Crucifixion. The melody has been running through my head all day. Being “haunted by the tune and words, “is it nothing to you?”, I sought to find the words online and use them as the theme basis for this post and its follow-up during this particularly sacred season on the Christian calendar. We begin what is known as the ‘Passion Week’; the week leading into the passion of Christ and ultimately and gloriously culminating with His Resurrection: His victory over death and the grave.

The words that follow are from Stainer’s oratorio: Jesus is speaking. These precede a few thoughts that I will leave with you to consider, to contemplate, to meditate on, and to search out the depths of your heart and ask yourself, “Is It NOTHING to YOU?”

“Is it nothing to you, all ye that pass by?
Behold, and see if there be any sorrow like unto My sorrow.
Which is done unto Me,
Wherein the Lord hath afflicted Me in the day of His fierce anger.

I laid My eternal power aside, I came from the Home of the Glorified,
A babe in the lowly cave to lie.

Is it nothing to you, all ye that pass by?

I wept for the sorrows and pains of men,
I healed them and helped them and loved them,
But then, they shouted against Me,
“ Crucify!”

Is it nothing to you?

Behold Me and see: pierced thro’ and thro’ with countless sorrows,
and all is for you;
For you I suffer, for you I die.

Is it nothing to you, all ye that pass by?

Oh men and women your deeds of shame,
Your sins without reason and number and name,
I bear them all on the Cross on high,
Is it nothing to you?

Is it nothing to you that I bow My Head?
And nothing to you that My Blood is shed?
Oh! Perishing souls to you I cry,
Is it nothing to you?

O come unto Me, by the woes I have borne,
By the dreadful scourge, and the crown of thorns,
By these I implore you to hear My cry,
Is it nothing to you?

O come unto Me, this awful price,
Redemption’s tremendous sacrifice,
Is paid for you.
Oh! Why will ye die?

O come unto Me!
For why will ye die?
Come to Me.”

After these words and music, the play continues thus:
After this, Jesus, knowing that all things were now accomplished saith,

Jesus said,
I thirst.

When Jesus had received the vinegar, he said,

Jesus said,
It is finished.

Father, into thy hands I commend my spirit.

And he bowed his head, and gave up the ghost.

I hope you have allowed your imaginations to flow freely as you read the words of this song, the pleading of Christ for the souls of man to relinquish their sinful ways and accept His finished work of salvation for mankind.

The week leading up to the crucifixion began quite joyously, as we read in the Gospels. John 12:13-19 gives the account of a great crowd of people who had come together to celebrate the Feast of Passover in Jerusalem. Hearing of Jesus’ coming, they “took branches of palm trees, and went forth to meet Him and cried, Hosanna: Blessed is the King of Israel that cometh in the name of the Lord.” John 12:13, KJV. In the fulfillment of Zechariah 9:9’s prophecy, “Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion; shout, O daughter of Jerusalem: behold, thy King cometh unto thee: He is just, and having salvation; lowly, and riding upon an ass, and upon a colt the foal of an ass.” Jesus had entered Jerusalem riding on a colt.

The people did not necessarily understand Who Jesus was,that Jesus had come to bring them salvation; that His coming was for a spiritual salvation and that the King that had come was not there to free them from the oppression of their earthly circumstances.

Verses 16-18 of John 12 clearly tells us how the crowd had heard of Jesus’ miracles, and “for this cause the people…met Him.” The crowd responded to Jesus’ works but not necessarily to Him, the Redeemer of the world Who had come to save them from their sin; the One Who would tear down the wall between their sinful souls and a Holy God. Jesus, God the Son, the Savior, the Redeemer, was God the Father’s answer to their sin problem and the only way, the only assurance of securing a place in Heaven for Eternity. This is not my opinion but clearly stated in John 14:6 where Jesus, Himself, says, “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by Me.” Again, a reiteration from previous posts about “Faith and Works”, works do not get us to Heaven.

How different is the world today? How may cry out to God for reasons that are personal or reasons that are selfish but never cry out to Him for the only reason for why Jesus was born? He came to die that we might live with Him eternally. See John 12:24-26.

Are we seeking Jesus? Why do we seek Him? Does our reason for seeking Him agree with His reason for coming and dying on the cross? Perhaps it is time for some self-examination and some self-evaluation for the motives for which we say, ‘we love Jesus’?

These Hosanna-sayers were not truly seeking Jesus, according to His purpose. His last invitation to accept Him and the salvation He brought them is found in John 12:35-37:

“Yet a little while is the Light with you. Walk while ye have the Light, lest darkness come upon you: for he that walketh in darkness knoweth not whither he goeth. While ye have Light, believe in the Light, that ye may be the children of Light.” KJV

There is always a percentage of those who having heard God’s word, will believe, but are ashamed to speak up for the Name of Christ. and His Word. Why is that? They fear man, that is, their peers, family traditions, family ties and relationships, and fear, binding them, will turn coat and not take a stand. John 12:42-43 gives us such an example: “Nevertheless among the chief rulers also many believed on Him; but because of the Pharisees they did not confess Him, lest they should be put out of the synagogue: for they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God.”

We cannot be “secret admirers” of Jesus Christ. Jesus said, “…if any man hear my words, and believe not, I judge him not: for I came not to judge the world, but to save the world. He that rejected Me, and receiveth not My words, hath one that judgeth him: the word that I have spoken, the same shall judge him in the last day. For I have not spoken of Myself; but the Father which sent Me, He gave Me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.” And I know that His commandment is life everlasting: whatsoever I speak therefore, even as the Father said unto Me so I speak.”
John 12:47-50 KJV

Please do leave your comments. It is very encouraging to know how God is working. Your comments are great encouragments! And to be alerted to future posts, please feel free to subscribe. Thank you for visiting Beyond the Strait Gate. I look forward to your next visit.

9 thoughts on “Passion Week: Is It NOTHING to You? – Part 1, Jerusalem’s Hosanna

  1. This was a great blog post. We have no time to be secret admirers of Jesus Christ. We have a living, loving God who is coming soon for us! Wonderful job at spreading the good news! I’m praying for you 🙂

  2. Wow! I agree that we need to see Jesus more and not just when we want something from Him. This reminds me of Matthew 6:33: But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.
    Thanks for sharing! I’m so happy I found your blog on the CAST Team FB Page. Have a nice weekend! 🙂

  3. Hi Gabrielle,
    Thank you for stopping by Beyond the Strait Gate. Mt. 6:33 is one of my life verses, a wonderful rule and standard in life. I hope you will return again and visit and perhaps sign up to receive the updates of when new posts arrive. 🙂
    Blessings,
    Mercedes

  4. Thank you for this post. It is sad that many celebrate Easter, yet do not celebrate for the right reason. It is the resurrection of Christ Jesus, and our “new” life in Him, that is cause to celebrate. I pray this message will reach many. Happy Easter!

    • Thank you, Lorri, for leaving your comments Beyond the Strait Gate. I appreciate you taking the time to stop, read and sharing your thoughts. I say, AMEN and AMEN to your comments. It is because of His resurrection that we have this ‘new life’ in Christ Jesus our Lord and Savior.

      Have a blessed Resurrection Sunday! I hope you will come and visit again!
      ~ Mercedes

  5. Thank you, Ann, for your faithful returning visits to Beyond…the Gate. I don’t think we could ever come to the end of self-reflection. A good thing, too, is it not so we can continue to keep on keeping on toward God’s purpose in our lives.

    The song is from the mentioned oratorio.

Leave a Reply

