Self-Diagnosis: Are We Teachable?


Today’s post is born from my quiet time readings this morning in Psalm 119:65-72, KJV, which caused me to contemplate on how teachable I may or may not be. I thought I would share that with you today and perhaps bring to your consideration this same self-introspective query.

65 Thou hast dealt well with thy servant, O LORD, according unto thy word.

66 Teach me good judgment and knowledge: for I have believed thy commandments.

67 Before I was afflicted I went astray: but now have I kept thy word.

68 Thou art good, and doest good; teach me thy statutes.

69 The proud have forged a lie against me: but I will keep thy precepts with my whole heart.

70 Their heart is as fat as grease; but I delight in thy law.

71 It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn thy statutes

72 The law of thy mouth is better unto me than thousands of gold and silver.

I will present the self-examination from the first-person’s point of view and hopefully, as you follow along, you will consider yourself, also, in the first-person, as I have.

~IF I AM TEACHABLE, I will HEAR God’s direction for me from His Word, (verse 65)

~IF I AM TEACHABLE and believe God’s Word, I will DO according to His Word. In obeying Him and His Word, I will learn HIS good judgment and HIS knowledge, (verse 66)

~IF I AM TEACHABLE and keep His Word, it will keep me from going astray, (verse 67)

~IF I AM TEACHABLE, I will seek THE HIGHEST GOOD, that is, GOD!! God is good and does good. I want to learn from His good and His high standard His ways (verse 68)

~IF I AM TEACHABLE, I will not be swayed by those who wish me ill. My heart is “set”!! on God. “I will not be moved.” (verse 69)

~IF I AM TEACHABLE, I will have His discernment and “see” those who wish me ill for who they are, but because my focus, my sights, my heart is “set” on God’s Word, my delight in God’s Word will overshadow those malcontents. It will not affect me for evil. (verse 70)

~IF I AM TEACHABLE, I will see the good of having been afflicted. Affliction sends me running to where I can get help; my help is from God’s Word. It is then from His Word that I will learn His statutes (verse 71)

~IF I AM TEACHABLE, I will recognize and acknowledge, receive and accept the value of Eternal things…true treasure, that being, God’s Word. God’s Word is of more value in this life and in the life to come than the treasures of gold and silver, which this world counts as valuable. (verse 72)

Finally, IF I AM TEACHABLE, I will consider this from I Corinthians 9:24-25:
Know ye not that they which run in a race run all, but one receiveth the prize? So run, that ye may obtain. And every man that striveth for the mastery is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a corruptible crown, but we an incorruptible.”

I am in a race to obtain a prize. Not a gold medal as in the Olympics nor any other earthly medal but running to receive an “incorruptible crown”.

Time to take self-inventory:
How teachable am I? How teachable are you?

In the “race” of life what is my objective; what is your objective?…a medal of recognition where the gain is your 15 minutes of fame or an incorruptible crown…one that will last forever in Eternity?

Thank you for stopping by Beyond the Strait Gate today. I hope you will take time to contemplate these thoughts today and hopefully your meditation of such will bring you to a place where your choice is one that revolutionizes your life and it glorifies God.

Please feel free to leave your comments, sign up for future alerts to new posts

2 thoughts on “Self-Diagnosis: Are We Teachable?

Leave a Reply

